Banting Medal for Scientific Achievement Award

The Banting Medal for Scientific Achievement Award is the highest scientific award of the American Diabetes Association.

Given in memory of Sir Frederick Banting, a medical scientist, doctor and Nobel laureate who is noted as one of the key investigators in the discovery of insulin, the Banting Medal is awarded annually to honor highly meritorious career achievement in the field of diabetes research.

Criteria for Selection

  • Nominee will have demonstrated significant, long-term contribution to the understanding of diabetes, its treatment and/or prevention.
  • Publications and teaching experience are primary factors in the selection process.
  • Nominee must have MD, PhD, or equivalent.
  • Both U.S. and non-U.S. residents are eligible for award.
  • Contributions and volunteer service to both national and international diabetes organizations and the broader diabetes community may also be taken into consideration.


  • Recipient will deliver the Banting Lecture at the Scientific Sessions.


  • The recipient receives a $20,000 honorarium.
  • Offered the opportunity to publish the lecture in an American Diabetes Association journal.
  • Award includes round-trip coach airfare for winner and spouse and hotel stay for up to seven nights. Also includes other travel-related expenses.
  • Includes complimentary registration to Scientific Sessions for winner and a family member.

Nomination/Submission Process

  • Nominations must be submitted using the universal National Scientific Achievement Award Application Form.
  • Nominations are accepted from any professional member of the American Diabetes Association.
  • Letter of nomination (no more than 400 words), signed by no more than 3 individuals, will be accepted.  Letter of nomination should address criteria for selection.
  • Nominee’s CV with career and publication highlights.
  • Annotated list of the nominee’s 10 most significant publications.
  • Questions? Contact Mary Merkin by email or call 703-549-1500, ext 1371.


The recipient is chosen by the National Medicine, Science and Health Care Awards Committee and approved by the Executive Committee of the American Diabetes Association.

Past Winners

 1941  Elliott P. Joslin, MD
 1942  William Muhlberg, MD
 1943  Fred W. Hipwell, MD
 1944  Leonard G. Rowntree, MD
 1946  25th Anniversary of Insulin Program
    Bernardo A. Houssay, MD
    H.C. Hagedorn, MD
    R.D. Lawrence, MD
    Eugene Opie, MD
    University of Toronto
 1947  G.H.A. Clowes, PhD
 1948  Rollin T. Woodyatt, MD
 1949  Herbert M. Evans, MD
    Frederick M. Allen, MD
 1950  F.G. Young, DCs
 1951  C.N.H. Long, MD
 1952  R.R. Bensley, MD
 1953  Shields Warren, MD
    Walter R. Campbell, MD
    A. Almon Fletcher, MD
 1954  Sir Henry H. Dale
 1955  Carl F. Cori, MD
    Eugene F. DuBois, MD
 1956  William C. Stadie, MD
 1957  DeWitt Stetten, Jr., MD, PhD
    John R. Murlin, PhD, DSc
 1958  Jerome W. Conn, MD
    William H. Olmsted, MD
 1959  George W. Thorn, MD
    E.T. Bell, MD
 1960  Priscilla White, MD
    J.P. Collip, MD
 1961  Rachmiel Levine, MD
 1962  A. Baird Hastings, PhD
 1963  Bernardo A. Houssay, MD
    Garfield G. Duncan, MD
 1964  Francis D.W. Lukens, MD
    Moses Barron, MD
    Professor Joseph P. Hoet
    Leland S. McKittrick, MD
    Peter J. Maloney, PhD
    David A. Scott, PhD
    Ernst Wertheimer, MD
 1965  Solomon A. Berson, MD
    I. Arthur Mirsky, MD
 1966  Robert H. Williams, MD
 1967  Alexander Marble, MD
 1968  Arthur R. Colwell, MD
 1969  Earl W. Sutherland, MD
    Robert L. Jackson, MD
 1970  Paul E. Lacy, MD
 1971  George F. Cahill, Jr., MD
    William R. Kirtley, MD
 1972  Dorothy C. Hodgkin, PhD
 1973  Arnold Lazarow, MD, PhD
 1974  Albert E. Renold, MD
 1975  Roger H. Unger, MD
 1976  Donald F. Steiner, MD
 1977  David M. Kipnis, MD
 1978  Stefan S. Fajans, MD
 1979  Charles R. Park, MD
 1980  Norbert Freinkel, MD
 1981  Lelio Orci, MD
 1982  Jesse Roth, MD
 1983  Arthur H. Rubenstein, MD
 1984  Daniel W. Foster, MD
 1985  Bjorn Nerup, MD
 1986  Albert I. Winegrad, MD
 1987  Joseph Larner, MD, PhD
 1988  Gerald M. Reaven, MD
 1989  Ora Rosen, MD
 1990  Daniel Porte, Jr., MD
 1991  M. Laden Vranic, MD
 1992  Gian Franco Bottazzo, MD
 1993  C. Ronald Kahn, MD
 1994  Philip E. Cryer, MD
 1995  Franz M. Matschinsky, MD, PhD
 1996  Peter H. Bennett, MB, PhD
 1997  Alan D. Cherrington, PhD
 1998  Jerrold M. Olefsky, MD
 1999  Anthony Cerami, PhD
 2000  Michael P. Czech, PhD
 2001  J. Denis McGarry, PhD
 2002  Samuel W. Cushman, PhD
 2003  Aldo A. Rossini, MD
 2004  Michael A. Brownlee, MD
 2005  Jeffrey S. Flier, MD
 2006  Richard N. Bergman, PhD
 2007  Robert S. Sherwin, MD
 2008  Ralph A. DeFronzo, MD
 2009  George S. Eisenbarth, MD, PhD
 2010  Robert A. Rizza, MD
 2011  Barbara E. Corkey, PhD
2013 Graeme I. Bell, PhD


Back to National Scientific and Health Care Achievement Awards page

  • Last Reviewed: October 24, 2013
  • Last Edited: October 25, 2013

Articles from Diabetes Forecast® magazine:

Diabetes Forecast