Kelly M. West Award

Given in memory of Kelly M. West, widely regarded as the “father of diabetes epidemiology,” to an individual who has made significant contributions to the field of diabetes epidemiology.

Criteria for Selection

  • Principal criteria for selection process: impact of scientific publications and presentations at scientific meetings related to the epidemiology of diabetes.
  • National and international stature in diabetes epidemiology.
  • Impact as a teacher and mentor will also be taken into consideration.
  • Nominee must have MD, PhD or MPH degree or equivalent.
  • Both U.S. and non-U.S. residents are eligible for award.
  • Contributions and volunteer service to both national and international diabetes organizations and the broader diabetes community may also be taken into consideration.  
  • Nominations are accepted from any professional member of the American Diabetes Association.

Award Lecture/Publication

  • The recipient will deliver a lecture at the Annual Scientific Sessions.
  • The recipient will be offered the opportunity to publish the lecture in an American Diabetes Association journal.


  • The recipient receives a $3,000 honorarium.
  • Award includes round-trip coach airfare for winner and spouse and hotel stay for up to 5-nights. Also includes other meeting related and travel expenses.
  • Includes complimentary registration to Scientific Sessions for winner and a guest. 

Nomination/Submission Process

  • Nominations must be submitted using the universal National Scientific Achievement Award Application Form.
  • Nominations are accepted from any professional member of the American Diabetes Association.
  • Nominations from the membership of the Epidemiology and Statistics Interest Group especially will be solicited.
  • Letter of nomination (no more than 400 words, signed by no more than 3 individuals).
  • Application letter or nomination letter should address criteria for selection (above).
  • CV with career, mentoring, and publication highlights.
  • Please include a list of current and former Mentees/Trainees.
  • Please email completed application and supporting documents, preferably in one PDF.
  • Questions? Contact Mary Merkin by email or call 703-549-1500, ext 1371.


  •  The recipient is chosen by the National Medicine, Science and Health Care Awards Committee and approved by the Executive Committee of the American Diabetes Association.

Previous Kelly M. West Award Winners

1986 Peter H. Bennett, MD
1987 Elizabeth L. Barrett-Connor, MD
1988 Ronald E. LaPorte, PhD
1989 Harry Keen, MD
1990 Michael Stern, MD
1991 Paul Zimmet, MD, PhD
1992 Maureen I. Harris, PhD
1993 Trevor J. Orchard, MD
1994 Ronald Klein, MD, MPH
1995 William C. Knowler, MD, DrPh
1996 Richard F. Hamman, MD, DrPh
1997 Steven M. Haffner, MD
1998 Jaakko Tuomilehto, MD, PhD
1999 Wilfred Y. Fujimoto, MD
2000 Eveline Eschwege, MD
2001 John H. Fuller, MD
2002 David H. Pettitt, MD
2003 Barbara V. Howard, PhD
2004 Michael Engelgau, MD, MS
2005 Marian J. Rewers, MD, PhD
2006 William H. Herman, MD, MPH
2007 Beverly Balkau, PhD, BSC, Dip Ed
2008 Markku Laakso, MD, PhD
2009 James B. Meigs, MD, MPH
2010 Frank B. Hu, MD, PhD
2011 Frederick L. Brancati, MD, MHS, FACP
2013 Edward J. Boyko, MD, MPH

Back to National Scientific and Health Care Achievement Awards page  

  • Last Reviewed: October 24, 2013
  • Last Edited: October 25, 2013

Articles from Diabetes Forecast® magazine:

Diabetes Forecast