Richard R. Rubin Award

To recognize outstanding achievement and/or innovative contributions in the study and understanding of behavioral aspects of diabetes.

Criteria for Selection

  • To recognize a behavioral researcher who has made outstanding and/or innovative contributions in the study and understanding of behavioral aspects of diabetes.
  • National and international stature in behavioral medicine in diabetes.
  • No specific degree requirements, but a clinical/research focus in behavioral health is strongly preferred.
  • Both U.S. and non-U.S. residents are eligible for award.
  • Contributions and volunteer service to both national and international diabetes organizations and the broader diabetes community may also be taken into consideration.  
  • Nominee must be an active American Diabetes Association member.

Award Lecture/Publication

  • The recipient will deliver a lecture as part of a featured symposium at the Association’s Annual Scientific Sessions.
  • The recipient will lead a discussion related to the topic of the lectureship presentation at the Council Discussion Session during the meeting.


  • Award includes round-trip coach airfare for winner and hotel accomodations for up to 3 nights.
  • Includes one complimentary registration to Scientific Sessions.
  • The recipient receives a $1,000 honorarium

 Nomination/Submission Process

  • Nominations must be submitted using the universal National Scientific Achievement Award Application Form.
  • Nominations are accepted from any professional member of the American Diabetes Association.
  • Nominations from the membership of the Behavioral Medicine & Psychology Interest Group in particular are encouraged and will be solicited. 
  • Letter of nomination (no more than 400 words, signed by no more than 3 individuals).
  • Application letter or nomination letter should address criteria for selection (above).
  • CV with career, mentoring, and publication highlights.


  • The recipient is chosen by a selection committee comprised of the Chair of the Behavioral Medicine and Psychology Section and the past 3 recipients of the Award.  The selection committee will review and discuss all nominations and select the recipient on the basis of outstanding achievement or innovative contributions that have led to advances in the study and understanding of behavioral aspects of living with diabetes and its prevention and treatment.
  • The selection process is reviewed and supported by the National Medicine, Science and Health Care Awards Committee.  The nominee is approved by the Executive Committee of the American Diabetes Association.

Previous Winners of the Behavioral Medicine & Psychology Interest Group Lectureship for Distinguished Contributions

2005 Daniel Cox, PhD
2006 Russell Glasgow, PhD
2007 Suzanne B. Johnson, PhD
2008 Rena Wing, PhD
2009 Patrick Lustman, PhD
2010 Richard R. Rubin, PhD, CDE
2011 Barbara J. Anderson, PhD
2013 Margaret Grey DrPH, RN, FAAN


Back to National Scientific and Health Care Achievement Awards page 

  • Last Reviewed: October 24, 2013
  • Last Edited: October 25, 2013

Articles from Diabetes Forecast® magazine:

Diabetes Forecast