Roger E. Pecoraro Award

Given in memory of Roger E. Pecoraro, MD, a pioneer in research on the causes and prevention of foot ulcers and amputations in diabetes, The Roger E. Pecoraro Lectureship Award recognizes a researcher who has made scientific contributions and demonstrates an untiring commitment to improving the understanding of detection, treatment and prevention of diabetic foot complications. 

Supported by an unrestricted educational grant from Curative Health Services, ConvaTec, Ortho McNeil-Pharmaceuticals, and Sechrist Clinical Services.

Criteria for Selection

  • To recognize significant and/or innovating scientific achievement  in improving the understanding of detection, treatment and prevention of diabetic foot complications. 
  • Nominee will be recognized for national and/or international contributions to the field of research on diabetes complications.
  • Nominee must be an active American Diabetes Association member. 
  • Impact as a teacher and mentor will also be taken into consideration.
  • Eligible candidates hold an doctorate level clinical or research degree (MD, DO, DPM, PhD).
  • Both U.S. and non-U.S. residents are eligible for award.
  • Contributions and volunteer service to both national and international diabetes organizations and the broader diabetes community may also be taken into consideration.  

Award Lecture/Publication

  • The recipient will deliver a lecture as part of a featured symposium at the Association’s Annual Scientific Sessions.


  • Award includes round-trip coach airfare for the award recipient and hotel stay for up to three nights.
  • Includes complimentary registration to Scientific Sessions for the award recipient.
  • The recipient receives a $1,000 honorarium

Nomination/Submission Process

  • Nominations must be submitted using the universal National Scientific Achievement Award Application Form.
  • Nominations are accepted from any professional member of the American Diabetes Association.
  • Nominations from the membership of the Council on Foot Care in particular are encouraged to submit nominations. 
  • Letter of nomination (no more than 400 words, signed by no more than 3 individuals).
  • Application letter or nomination letter should address criteria for selection (above).
  • CV with career, mentoring, and publication highlights.
  • Questions? Contact Mary Merkin by email or call 703-549-1500, ext 1371.


  • The Nominations are reviewed and scored by selected experts and past chairs from the Council on Foot Care appointed by the current chair of the Interest Group on Foot Care. 
  • The selection process is reviewed and supported by the National Medicine, Science and Health Care Awards Committee.  The nominee is approved by the Executive Committee of the American Diabetes Association.

Previous Recipient of the Roger E. Pecoraro Lecture

2011    Robert G. Frykberg, DPM, MPH
2010    David G. Armstrong
2009    James Birke
2008    David Sinacore
2007    Lawrence Lavery
2006    Michael J. Mueller
2005    rank LoGerfo
2004    ristidis Veves
2003    Lawrence Harkless
2002    Peter Cavanaugh
2001    not awarded
2000    Gayle Reiber
1999    Michael Edmonds
1998    Jan Apelqvist
1997    Gary Gibbons
1996    Andrew Boulton
1995    Paul Brand
1993    Jean-Philippe Assal
1992    Michael Edmonds

Back to National Scientific and Health Care Achievement Awards page 

  • Last Reviewed: October 24, 2013
  • Last Edited: October 25, 2013

Articles from Diabetes Forecast® magazine:

Diabetes Forecast