Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is the ultimate governing authority of the American Diabetes Association. It exercises fiduciary oversight of our financial, ethical and legal affairs and ensures the organization's stability and viability to fulfill our mission.

Gretchen Youssef, MS, RD, CDE
President, Health Care & Education

Louis H. Philipson, MD, PhD, FACP
President, Medicine & Science
Chicago, IL

Brian Bertha, JD, MBA

Umesh Verma
Chair of the Board-Elect

Mary de Groot, PhD
President-Elect, Health Care & Education

Robert H. Eckel, MD
President-Elect, Medicine & Science

Martha Parry Clark, MBA

Robert M. Cuddihy, MD
Board Member

C. Ronald Kahn, MD
Board Member

Julio Rosenstock, MD
Board Member

Glen Tullman
Board Member

William T. Cefalu, MD
Board Member