Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is the ultimate governing authority of the American Diabetes Association. It exercises fiduciary oversight of our financial, ethical and legal affairs and ensures the organization's stability and viability to fulfill our mission.

David A. DeMarco, PhD
Chair of the Board
Wakefield, RI

Brenda Montgomery, RN, MSHS, CDE
President, Health Care & Education
Bellevue, WA

Alvin C. Powers, MD
President, Medicine & Science
Nashville, TN

Umesh Verma
Houston, TX

Karen Talmadge, PhD
Chair of the Board-Elect
San Francisco, CA

Felicia Hill-Briggs, PhD, ABPP
President-Elect, Health Care & Education
Baltimore, MD

Jane Reusch, MD
President-Elect, Medicine & Science
Denver, CO

Michael Ching, CPA
Secretary/ Treasurer-Elect
Honolulu, HI

Janet Brown Friday, RN, MSN, MPH
Board Member
Bronx, NY

Robert H. Eckel, MD
Board Member
Aurora, CO

David Herrick, MBA
Board Member
New York, NY

C. Ronald Kahn, MD
Board Member
Newton, MA

Steve Lucas, BS
Board Member
Denver, CO

Calvin Schmidt, BE, MBA
Board Member
Raritan, NJ

Catherine Squires, CFRE
Board Member
Chicago, IL

Alan L. Yatvin, JD
Board Member
Philadelphia, PA


Martha Clark, MBA
Interim Chief Executive Officer
Arlington, VA

William T. Cefalu, MD
Chief Scientific, Medical & Mission Officer

LaShawn McIver, MD, MPH
Senior Vice President, Government Affairs & Advocacy

Michael Eisenstein
Senior Vice President, Products

Tamara Darsow, PhD
Senior Vice President, Research and Community Programs

Linda Cann, MSEd
Senior Vice President, Professional Services