What Foods Have Gluten?
Gluten is found in wheat, rye, barley and any foods made with these grains.
Avoiding wheat can be especially hard because this means you should avoid all wheat-based flours and ingredients. These include:
- White Flour
- Whole Wheat Flour
- Durum Wheat
- Graham Flour
- Wheat Germ
- Wheat Bran
Common foods that are usually made with wheat include:
- Flour Tortillas
- Oats (see the section on oats below)
This may seem like a long list, but there are still plenty of gluten-free foods out there! Choose from many fresh, healthy foods like fruits, vegetables, beans, dairy, nuts and gluten-free grains like quinoa or rice. There are also gluten-free versions of many of the foods above available in most grocery stores. You just have to look for them!
You may not expect it, but the following foods can also contain gluten:
- broth in soups and bouillon cubes
- breadcrumbs and croutons
- some candies
- fried foods
- imitation fish
- some lunch meats and hot dogs
- modified food starch
- seasoned chips and other seasoned snack foods
- salad dressings
- self-basting turkey
- soy sauce
- seasoned rice and pasta mixes
There are also many addititves and ingredients in packaged foods that may contain gluten. Always check labels and ingredient lists for these. For a more comprehensive list of gluten-containing additives, contact your local celiac support group.
A Few Other Points:
Don't forget that ingredients in food products change frequently, so always check the label before buying packaged foods.
Remember that "wheat-free" does not automatically mean "gluten-free." While a product may not contain wheat, it can still contain rye or barley in some form.
If you have any question about whether a food contains gluten, contact the manufacturer directly.
Oats are technically a gluten-free food but they are often contaminated with gluten during growing, harvesting or processing. In the past, many experts recommended completely avoiding oats in addition to wheat, rye and barley for those on a gluten-free diet. Now, some oats are grown and processed separately and are labeled "gluten-free."
Many people with celiac disease are still advised to avoid oats initially. However, eating gluten-free oats can help provide fiber and other important nutrients in one's diet. And over time, most people can reintroduce pure oats in small amounts (about 1/2 cup of dry oats per day) without any trouble.
If you do choose to include them, let your doctor know and only eat oats that are marked "gluten-free".
You can find resources and organizations that deal specifically with gluten-free issues by searching for "gluten-free" or "celiac disease" in your preferred search engine.
Guides to Healthy Living
Sign up for our monthly Consumer Books enewsletter and be the first to know about our newest cookbooks and guides on meal planning, nutrition, weight control and self care.
Thank you for signing up!
Check out our FREE program for tips on living with type 2.
Help us raise $1 million for diabetes research and other essential programs.
New tools for meal preparation made easy!
Bee Well for Life gives fitness tips and helps Stop Diabetes!
Great recipes tap the salad bar, deli, and freezer case to get food on the table.
Learn to make delicious vegetarian dishes with this easy-to-follow cookbook.
Celebrate the holidays with Diabetes Forecast! Best deal–order today!
Food is an important part of the African American culture. See our recipes.
Stay on track with our holiday meal planning tips. Recipes everyone will enjoy!
Was your child recently diagnosed with type 1 diabetes? Order this free kit.
This personal tracking program is key to diabetes management.
Watch our Stop Diabetes PSA and share with your friends and family.
Recipes for Healthy Living, a holiday survival guide & more!
Get helpful tips for stress-free traveling with diabetes.
Check out our parent mentor volunteer program full of parents just like you!