American Diabetes Association Announces New National Officers and Board Members

January 5, 2011

The American Diabetes Association, the nation’s largest and leading voluntary health organization leading the fight to Stop Diabetes®, is pleased to announce its officers and Board of Directors members for 2011.  They are: 

Chair of the Board
John W. Griffin, Jr.
Managing Partner      
Marek, Griffin & Knaupp                                     
Victoria, TX   

President, Health Care & Education
Elizabeth Mayer-Davis, MSPH, PhD, RD
Professor, Department of Nutrition               
Gillings School of Global Public Health & School of Medicine  
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill    
Chapel Hill, NC 

President, Medicine & Science
Robert R. Henry, MD
University of California San Diego   
Chief, Section of Endocrinology, Metabolism & Diabetes  
Director, Center for Metabolic Research
VA San Diego Healthcare System
San Diego, CA 

Dwight Holing  
DHA Communications  
Orinda, CA

Chief Executive Officer
Larry Hausner, MBA
Chief Executive Officer
American Diabetes Association
Alexandria, VA

John E. Anderson, MD
(Vice President, Medicine & Science)  
The Frist Clinic
Nashville, TN

Richard M. Bergenstal, MD
(Immediate Past President, Medicine & Science)
Executive Director
International Diabetes Center
Minneapolis, MN

David K. Bloomgarden, MD, FACE
Clinical Endocrinologist
Scarsdale Medical Group, LLP
Harrison, NY

Michael Julian Bond
Atlanta City Councilmember
Atlanta, GA 

Vanessa Jones Briscoe, PhD, NP, CDE
Research Assistant Professor
Division of Cardiovascular Medicine
Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Nashville, TN 

Jeffrey Caballero, MPH
Executive Director
Association of Asian Pacific Community Health Organizations
Oakland, CA

Nash M. Childs, PE
(Immediate Past Chair of the Board)
Executive Vice President
Bancroft Construction Company
Wilmington, DE

Joe C. Cook, Jr.
Mountain Group Capital, LLC
Nashville, TN

Pearson C. Cummin, III
(Secretary/Treasurer Elect)
Managing Member
Grey Fox Associates, LLC
Greenwich, CT

Samuel E. Dagogo-Jack, MD
Professor of Medicine & Director
Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes & Metabolism
A.C. Mullins Chair in Translational Research
University of Tennessee Health Science Center
Memphis, TN

Robin L. Diehl
CFO and Director of Fiscal Management
North Carolina Department of Administration
Raleigh, NC

Richard Farber, MBA
Kayne Anderson Capital Advisors
Pacific Palisades, CA

Vivian A. Fonseca, MD
(President-Elect, Medicine & Science)
Professor of Medicine & Pharmacology
Tullis-Tulane Alumni Chair in Diabetes
Chief, Section of Endocrinology & Metabolism
Tulane University Medical Center
New Orleans, LA

Lurelean B. Gaines, RN, MSN
(Vice President, Health Care & Education) 
Department of Nursing
East Los Angeles College
Los Angeles, CA

James O. Hill, PhD
Professor of Pediatrics & Medicine
Executive Director, Anschutz Medical Campus Health and Wellness Center
University of Colorado School of Medicine
Denver, CO

Jane K. Kadohiro, DrPH, APRN, CDE
Diabetes and Wellness Educator
The Queen’s Medical Center
Honolulu, HI

Daniel B. Kohrman, JD, MPA
Senior Attorney
AARP Foundation
Washington, DC

Mary T. Korytkowski, RN, MN, MD
Professor of Medicine
Division of Endocrinology
University of Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, PA 

Lorrie Welker Liang
Vice President
Sinai Hospital of Baltimore
Baltimore, MD 

L. Hunter Limbaugh
(Chair of the Board-Elect)
Southeastern Counsel
Wine Institute
Columbia, SC

Dennis Marco
Executive Vice President
Porzio Government Affairs, LLC
Trenton, NJ

David G. Marrero, PhD
J.O. Ritchey Professor of Medicine
Indiana University School of Medicine
Indianapolis, IN

Gerard B. Nee, CPA
(Immediate Past Secretary/Treasurer)
Morey & Company, LLC
Somerville, NJ

Anne Peters, MD, FACP, CDE
Professor, Keck School of Medicine
University of Southern California
Los Angeles, CA

Louis H. Philipson, MD, PhD, FACP
Departments of Medicine and Pediatrics – Section of Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism
Kovler Diabetes Center
The University of  Chicago
Chicago, IL

Vincent Poitout, DVM, PhD
Department of Medicine
University of Montreal
Montreal, Canada

Margaret A. Powers, PhD, RD, CDE
Research Scientist
International Diabetes Center
Minneapolis, MN

Thomas L. Ryan, CPA
President & Chief Executive Officer
Service Corporation International
Houston, TX

Elizabeth R. Seaquist, MD
Pennock Family Chair in Diabetes Research
Professor of Medicine
Director, Center for Diabetes Research
University of Minnesota
Minneapolis, MN

Patrick L. Shuler, CPA
(Vice Secretary/Treasurer)    
Senior Partner
Goodman & Company
Virginia Beach, VA

Geralyn Spollett, MSN, ANP-CS, CDE
(President-Elect, Health Care & Education)
Associate Director, Yale Diabetes Center
Adult Nurse Practitioner, Endocrine
School of Medicine Faculty Practice
Yale University
New Haven, CT

Karen Talmadge, PhD
(Vice Chair of the Board)   
Vice President and Chief Science Officer
Medtronic Kyphon Products Division
Los Altos Hills, CA 

Christine T. Tobin, MS, MBA, CDE
(Immediate Past President, Health Care & Education)
Diabetes Educator
Atlanta, GA

Darryl Tonemah, PhD, MEd, BS
Health and Wellness Consultant
Native Health Group
Lewiston, NY

Gretchen A. Youssef, MS, RD, CDE
Program Manager
MedStar Diabetes Institute, MEDSTAR HEALTH
Washington, DC

About the American Diabetes Association

Nearly half of American adults have diabetes or prediabetes; more than 30 million adults and children have diabetes; and every 21 seconds, another individual is diagnosed with diabetes in the U.S. Founded in 1940, the American Diabetes Association (ADA) is the nation’s leading voluntary health organization whose mission is to prevent and cure diabetes, and to improve the lives of all people affected by diabetes. The ADA drives discovery by funding research to treat, manage and prevent all types of diabetes, as well as to search for cures; raises voice to the urgency of the diabetes epidemic; and works to safeguard policies and programs that protect people with diabetes. In addition, the ADA supports people living with diabetes, those at risk of developing diabetes, and the health care professionals who serve them through information and programs that can improve health outcomes and quality of life. For more information, please call the ADA at 1-800-DIABETES (1-800-342-2383) or visit Information from both of these sources is available in English and Spanish. Find us on Facebook (American Diabetes Association), Twitter (@AmDiabetesAssn) and Instagram (@AmDiabetesAssn)