Guidance From Respected Mentors


Pathway Scientists will be selected by a Mentor Advisory Group — a collection of eminent scientists from diabetes and other fields who will seek in our applicants the core elements for exceptional science: rigorous thought processes, keen intellect, and capacity for innovation, creativity, and productivity. The Mentors/Advisors will also provide ongoing scientific and career advice, creating a challenging and collaborative environment for transformative science to thrive. We will also invite business leaders and donors who support the Pathway scientists to give career and general guidance, providing broader perspectives.


Richard N. Bergman, PhD
Director, Diabetes and Obesity Research Institute, Biomedical Sciences
Cedars-Sinal Medical Center
Los Angeles, CA

Jeffrey Bluestone, PhD
A.W. and Mary Margaret Clausen Distinguished Professor of Metabolism and Endocrinology
University of California, San Francisco
School of Medicine
San Francisco, CA

Charles Burant, MD, PhD
Professor of Internal Medicine
University of Michigan Medical School
Ann Arbor, MI

John B. Buse, MD, PhD
Verne S. Caviness Distinguished Professor
University of North Carolina School of Medicine
Chapel Hill, NC

Lawrence Chan, MD
Professor of Medicine, Molecular & Cellular Biology
Director, Diabetes Research Center
Baylor College of Medicine
Houston, TX

Robert H. Eckel, MD
Professor of Medicine
University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus
Aurora, CO

Barbara V. Howard, PhD
Senior Scientist and Professor
MedStar Research Institute and
Georgetown University
Hyattsville, MD

Steven E. Kahn, MB, ChB
Professor of Medicine
VA Puget Sound Health Care System and
University of Washington School of Medicine
Seattle, WA

Jeffrey E. Pessin, PhD
Professor of Medicine
Director of the Diabetes Center
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Bronx, NY

Alvin C. Powers, MD
Professor of Medicine, Molecular Physiology, and Biophysics
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
Nashville, TN

Christopher J. Rhodes, PhD
Professor of Medicine
Research Director of the Diabetes Center
The University of Chicago School of Medicine
Chicago, IL

Philipp E. Scherer, PhD
Professor and Director, Touchstone Diabetes Research Center
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas
Dallas, TX

Elizabeth R. Seaquist, MD
Professor of Medicine
University of Minnesota Medical School
Minneapolis, MN

Randy Seeley, PhD
Professor of Medicine
University of Cincinnati
College of Medicine
Cincinnati, OH

Gerald I. Shulman, MD, PhD
Professor of Medicine and Cellular & Molecular Physiology
Yale University School of Medicine
New Haven, CT