Pathway awards are available by institutional nomination only

Candidates will be identified through nominations from U.S.-accredited academic and nonprofit research institutions.

Institutions may nominate a maximum of one investigator per grant cycle. The nomination can be in either Pathway award type: Initiator or Accelerator.

Nominations must be on behalf of the institution and from an authorized institutional representative, such as the Nominating Committee Chair, Division Chair, Dean of Research, or President. Individual components of multi-component institutions (e.g. University of California Los Angeles and University of California Berkeley within the University of California system, or Harvard University and Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center within the Harvard system) are sufficiently independent to be considered individual institutions. Each component may nominate one candidate as an independent entity.

Pathway seeks exceptional nominees from a broad range of disciplines, including medicine, biology, chemistry, engineering, mathematics and physics. The Association encourages nomination of individuals from diverse backgrounds, which includes minorities that are underrepresented in research. For the purposes of this program, underrepresented minorities are defined as individuals of African American, Spanish, Hispanic or Latino, Native American or Alaskan Native, and Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander descent.

The 2015 Call for Nominations will open in January 2015.