Research Excellence Honorees

Read about the inspiring individuals who have been recognized for excellence and innovation in diabetes research.

Thomas R. Lee Award

The Thomas R. Lee Career Development Award recognizes excellence in diabetes research and is given to the American Diabetes Association’s Career Development Award recipient who receives the highest priority score on a grant application in a given fiscal year. This award signifies the Association’s belief that the recipient will continue to be a premier researcher who will have great impact in diabetes treatment, prevention, and in the search for a cure.

This award is fully funded by the Estate of Mr. Thomas R. Lee of Norfolk, Virginia who for most of his life was a successful land owner and property developer in and around his beloved hometown of Norfolk. Known by all for his skilled business sense, dedication to friends and tremendous kindness to others, he generously supported the causes for which he was most passionate. Inspired by his personal battle with diabetes, Mr. Lee dedicated a portion of his estate as a charitable donation to the American Diabetes Association upon his death.

For 2013, Ana Quinones, PhD is the Thomas R. Lee Career Development recipient from Oregon Health and Sciences University. Her work entitled, "Complex chronic care needs of older minorities with Diabetes Mellitus", examines how to provide a better way to track the needs of older minorities with type 2 diabetes, who manage their daily lives with additional chronic illnesses.

The 2012 Thomas R. Lee Career Development recipient is Ling Qi, PhD from Cornell University. His work entitled, “Regulation of systemic insulin sensitivity by adipocytes XBP1s”, proposes to not only delineate a novel role of XBP1s in systemic insulin sensitivity, but also to identify regulators of XBP1s as novel drug targets in increasing circulating adiponectin levels and promoting systemic insulin sensitivity.

Archive of Past Recipients

Gail Patrick Innovation Award

In honor of Gail Patrick, the first National Chair of the Association's Board of Directors and legendary Motion Picture actress, this award is granted to Innovation award applications to the Association that receive the highest priority score (ADD in a given year). Prestigious awardees receive $50,000 per year for two years to support an innovative idea that advances the Association’s efforts to prevent, treat and cure diabetes and to improve the lives of all people affected by the disease.

The 2013 winner of the Gail Patrick Innovation Award is Ian Sweet, PhD from University of Washington. His project entitled, "Role of cytochrome c translocation in insulin release", will test whether the movement of cytochrome c is necessary and sufficient to stimulate insulin secretion in the face of elevated calcium signaling.

William Greg Schrage, PhD, from University of Wisconsin, was named the winner of the 2012 Gail Patrick Innovation Award for his project, “In vivo imaging of cerebrovascular structure and function in metabolic syndrome”. The proposed project will focus on brain circulation and is designed to fill this scientific gap in knowledge.

Archive of Past Recipients

  • Last Reviewed: October 17, 2013
  • Last Edited: April 21, 2014

Articles from Diabetes Forecast® magazine:

Diabetes Forecast