Research Excellence Archive

Previous Thomas R. Lee Award Winners

2015 - Shaodong Guo, PhD, Texas A&M University
Control of Liver Fibrosis and Failure by Insulin Resistance and FoxO Signaling

2014 - Julio Ayala, PhD,* Sanford-Burnham Medical Research Institute
Anorectic Mechanisms of Glp1-Receptor Agonists

2014 - Andrea Steck, MD,* from the University of Colorado Denver
Complex chronic care needs of older minorities with Diabetes Mellitus

2013 - Ana Quinones, PhD, Oregon Health and Sciences University
Complex chronic care needs of older minorities with Diabetes Mellitus

2012 - Ling Qi, PhD, Cornell University
Regulation of systemic insulin sensitivityby adipocytes XBP1s

2011 - Christoph Buettner, MD, PhD, Mount Sinai Medical Center
Regulation of innate immunity by brain  insulin

2010 - *There were no award winners in 2010.

2009 - Umut Ozcan, MD, Children's Hospital Boston
Role Of ER Stress and ATF4 In Development Of Leptin Resistance

2008 - David H. Wagner, Jr., PhD, University of Colorado Health Sciences Center, Webb-Waring Institute
CD40 As A Biomarker in Type 1 Diabetes

2007 - Jianhua Shao, PhD, University of California, San Diego
Transcriptional regulation of adiponectin gene expression

2006 - Zheng-Gen Jin, PhD, University of Rochester Medical Center
Molecular basis for diabetes-associated endothelial dysfunction

2005 - Keyong Du, PhD, New England Medical Center
A novel Akt interacting protein that regulates glucose transport and Akt compartmentalized activation by insulin

2004 - Raghavendra Mirmira, MD, PhD, Indiana University
Epigenetic regulation of insulin gene transcription

2003 - Vincent Poitout, PhD, DVM, Pacific Northwest Research Institute
Mechanisms of Fatty-Acid Potentiation of Insulin Secretion

2002 - Louis Ragolia, PhD, Winthrop University Hospital
The Molecular Basis of Vascular Smooth Muscle Cell Apoptosis

 Previous Gail Patrick Innovation Award Winners

2015 - Wang Wang, MD, PhD, University of Washington
Source and Sites of Action of Hydrogen Peroxide in Mitochondria and Cytosol of Pancreatic Islets

2014 - Nicholas Mellen, PhD, University of Louisville
Elucidating Mesoscopic Features of Diabetic Cardiomyopahty via Calcium Imaging and Optogenetics

2013 - Ian Sweet, PhD, University of Washington
Role of cytochrome c translocation in insulin release

2012 - William Greg Schrage, PhD, University of Wisconsin
In vivo imaging of cerebrovascular structure and function in metabolic syndrome

2011 - Paul Joseph Dimuzzio, MD, Thomas Jefferson University
A Stem Cell Vascular Graft

2010 - Yong Zhao, MD, PhD, The University of Illinois at Chicago
Mechanism of reversal of type 1 diabetes by cord blood stem cell-modulated regulatory T cells

2007 - Christopher Saudek, MD, Johns Hopkins University
Test of a Unique Isotopic Biomarker for Studies of Obesity and Diabetes

2007 - Teresa Paula DiLorenzo, PhD, Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Pharmacologic Repression of an Autoantigen Gene in Type 1 Diabetes

2006 - Pamela Jean Fink, PhD, University of Washington
Induction of Tolerance to Pancreatic Antigens in Recent Thymic Emigrants

2006 - Anthony Carruthers, PhD
Can we Prevent HIV-protease inhibitor-Induced Insulin Resistance by Understanding GLUT4 Inhibition?

2005 - Steven M. Tracy, PhD, University of Nebraska Medical Center
Coxsackievirus Induction of Insulitis in Young NOD Mice

  • Last Reviewed: October 17, 2013
  • Last Edited: December 1, 2016

Articles from Diabetes Forecast® magazine:

Diabetes Forecast